phobicfoodie

My Year of Adventurous Eating

Chocolate Cherry Thumbprint Cookies, and an Invitation! October 23, 2011

Filed under: Next!,Random Thoughts (or sometimes maybe not so random),Recipes — PhobicFoodie @ 11:21 am

I think I may have mentioned before:  I’m not much of a baker.

Therefore, when I find a recipe that is virtually impossible to screw up, requires very few ingredients, and always comes out addicting and delicious I pretty much use it to death.

That being said, I’d like to introduce you all to my little friends:  Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies.

They are shortbread-like cookies that have a little well in the center which you fill with jam or jelly or preserves.

You can make these cookies and leave out the cocoa powder, say if you were going to fill them with peach preserves or apple butter.

(Of course then they wouldn’t be Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies, they’d just be Thumbprint Cookies. )

You could add in cinnamon or nutmeg or ginger or any other spice you like!

You can mix in chopped nuts.

You could really do almost anything you want with them and use any combination of flavors and they will always come out wonderful…they are that easy to make.

So, you know, make some today!

Watch closely.  This will happen fast!

Start with a couple cups of flour, some salt, and some cocoa powder (if you are using it).  I sifted the cocoa powder through a fine mesh strainer to help break down all the clumps in it.  Whisk this mixture together and set it aside.

(This would also be an excellent time to use up some of that whole wheat pastry flour you accidently bought two bags of while on a quest for cake flour.  Ahem.  I mean, I’m not usually one who encourages the healthifying of a dessert, but in this particular recipe you won’t even notice that it’s whole wheat!  And when you have an excess of whole wheat flour on hand, it’s good be able to to find ways to use it!  Anyways, just a thought.)

Next, in a mixer (or you could do this by hand) cream two softened sticks of butter with 2/3 c. of brown sugar.

When this is fluffy, add in a teaspoon of vanilla.

I also added a teaspoon of almond extract because I was using cherry preserves and I think cherry is peachy with almond!

Add in the flour mixture

and mix until the dough comes together.  If it is too dry add in a teaspoon or two of water, but only enough to moisten everything.

Scoop about two tablespoons worth of the dough out at a time and form into balls, placing the balls on a cookie sheet about 1” apart (they’ll puff up some when they cook).

Using your thumb, press an indentation into the center of each cookie.

Fill each indentation with preserves.

Bake at 325 for about 25 minutes.

Let cool for about five minutes on the pan, then move to a cooling rack.

Done!

Here’s the recipe!

Chocolate Thumprint Cookies

2 c. flour

½ tsp salt

1/3 c. good quality cocoa powder (optional)

2/3 c. brown sugar

2 sticks butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp almond extract (optional)

¾ c. fruit preserves

(You could also add in ½ cup chopped nuts.  I would have, but I didn’t have any!)

Preheat oven to 325°

Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Stir in the vanilla and almond (if using).

In a separate bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.

Add the dry ingredients to the butter and sugar, mixing until the dough comes together.

Scoop out 2 tablespoons of dough at a time, forming into balls.

Place the balls 1” apart on a baking sheet.  Press an indentation into the center of each.

Fill each indentation with fruit preserves.

Bake for 25 minutes.  Let cool a few minutes on the baking sheet before moving to a cooling rack.

Eat and be happy!

And now, on to other things!

You know, like, Phobicfoodie things!

The time for my next food challenge is swiftly approaching and (for once) I’ve planned ahead enough to know what it is an issue an actual
invitation!

I intend to conquer all things olive, sweet pickle and caper related!

And what better way to introduce myself to a food I don’t (think) I like than with lots of alcohol?

So next Saturday (October 29th) is Martini Anitpasti Party Day!

And I realize this is very close to Halloween, but this is NOT a Halloween party.  No costumes required.  Unless of course you want to wear them!  And then, you know, I’m not gonna judge.  But I may take several photos.  No promises!

Anways, who wants to come?  If you’d like to join me, please RSVP by Wednesday (that’s October 26th, ya’ll).  The first 6 people to respond are invited over for martinis and all manner of brined vegetables!

Oh, and maybe some cheese and meats too.  Yer gonna need some protein to help pad all the booze and whatnot.

I’ll provide the martini fixin’s and a few other things…can you all bring me one of your favorite olives or sweet pickles or caper
reparations?

Let me know!  I want you there!

 

2 Responses to “Chocolate Cherry Thumbprint Cookies, and an Invitation!”

  1. In think you have… yet these cookies look really yummy!


Leave a Reply

