phobicfoodie

My Year of Adventurous Eating

I Heart Fall October 21, 2011

Filed under: Random Thoughts (or sometimes maybe not so random),Recipes — PhobicFoodie @ 2:18 pm

It’s haunting time.

This is the time of year for spooky movies, spooky treats, and spooky entertainment!

It’s not really my kind of season.  But it kind of is.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy a really good scary movie just as much as (if not more than) the next person!  The fact that I have to sleep with the lights on for a week or so after (even with Hubby right next to me) has no bearing on whether or not I’ll go in for a horror movie.  I actually like it when a movie makes me jump out of my socks and emit that funny squawk I make when I really want to scream, but don’t.  I even plan ahead and go see scary movies at the beginning of one of my long weekends so when (not if) I lose sleep over it I won’t be all impaired and sleep deprived at work.  I don’t drink any water for hours before the movie because if I have to go during it I’m just poop out of luck.  See, I also have this weird thing where I have to keep my feet off the floor for the whole movie.  I know that if I let my feet touch the floor before the lights come back on something will grab my ankles (this is a fact).

And then I will die.

Hubby doesn’t mind a good horror movie either.  He just doesn’t like it when I see them.

I wonder why.

Haunted houses, on the other hand, are another story altogether for me.

I’ve been to a haunted house all of once, and it was a complete waste of time and money.  It was one of those “age 12 and up” haunted houses, so you know it wasn’t that scary!  But I ran at top speed through the entire thing with my eyes closed and my hands over my eyes (you know, just in case)!  It’s a wonder I didn’t hurt myself.  Or someone else!  The only thing I actually saw was from the other end of the parking lot, and it was a chainsaw wielding clown doubled over with laughter.

He was laughing at me.

*sigh*

Ironically enough, while I stood outside shivering and waiting for the rest of my friends to work their way through, the haunted house staff came out and offered me a job.  They thought my scream was just great.

In any case, the fact that I have to sleep with the lights on and won’t cut across the parking lot after dark doesn’t keep me from enjoying the other joys of October!  Crunching through the fallen leaves, admiring all the bright colors, baking fall treats, indulging in soups and comfort foods, and lobotomizing unsuspecting squashes then carving goofy faces in them just for kicks and giggles!

Carving pumpkins is a tradition I haven’t gotten to take part in in many years, but Hubby seems to be rather an expert at it and made short work of this one using nothing more than a large spoon and a steak knife.

We gave it a big Cheshire Cat grin and roasted its brains and lit it up so we could enjoy the view while we snacked on its former contents!

We thought he looked a little bit like Monster.

Roasting pumpkin seeds is easy and fun, so don’t waste ‘em!  Next time you carve pumpkins, just rinse the seeds off really well and make sure there isn’t any pulp stuck to them.  Drain them and pat them dry on paper towels, then toss them with some oil and salt and whatever seasonings you prefer (we opted for barbecue flavored!  Chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, brown sugar and smoked paprika.  Yum!)

Spread them out on a baking sheet and roast at 425 for about 20 minutes.  Give ‘em a good stir every now and then to keep them from burning.  When they are crispy, toasted and just beginning to brown, pour them into a bowl and snack away!

Delicious!

We have other Fall treats coming up.  This is just the beginning!

We even bought a real pumpkin carving set.

Now all we need is another pumpkin.

 

Leave a Reply

