phobicfoodie

My Year of Adventurous Eating

Crab and Cheese But Hold the Wonton September 22, 2011

Filed under: Next! — PhobicFoodie @ 1:46 pm

In the interest of continuing my cheese adventures, today I ate a grilled cheese sandwich with Swiss Cheese on it.  Yes, that’s correct, I don’t eat Swiss cheese.  Except for today.

I don’t as a general rule enjoy the taste of Swiss cheese.  Today, however, what with all the American cheese and Pepper Jack cheese smothering it (it was a very multicultural grilled cheese sandwich), I found that I didn’t mind the Swiss cheese at all!

Of course, I could barely taste it. 

(I might also have been distracted by the bread, which was tough and soggy all at the same time.  Here is a suggestion for hospital cafeterias everywhere:  if you are going to call it a “Gourmet Grilled Cheese” consider not making the sandwiches 30 minutes ahead of time then leaving them to languish beneath a heat lamp for hours.  It’s an insult to the word “gourmet.”)

Doesn’t matter.  It still counts.  I’m still considering it a smashing success.  I could handle the Swiss!

On that note, let’s talk about crab.

My bestest girl friend in the world has challenged me to a crab meal at Joe’s Crab Shack.  Other eaters less picky than I are eagerly anticipating the event and experience a thrill at the very mention of the word “crab.”  My faithful foodie friend Sarah has confirmed that Joe’s Crab Shack is indeed a reputable crab establishment.

Sort of.

For Colorado, anyways.

So, September 30th, 2011 is Crab Day, and, as always, you are all invited! 

Join me for a lovely butter and lemon massacre…with maybe a little crab meat on the side.

I mean, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do to get through her first meal of arachnoid crustaceans.  Right?

 

Leave a Reply

