phobicfoodie

My Year of Adventurous Eating

Honey and Parmesan Popcorn June 29, 2011

Filed under: Random Thoughts (or sometimes maybe not so random),Recipes — PhobicFoodie @ 3:11 pm

This may be the most awesome thing I have invented to date.

This is my ticket to fame.

It’s my million dollar idea.

Honey and Parmesan Popcorn!

Parmesan and honey is one of those combinations that I used to think was way too weird to be good.  But then one day I had some honey on my pizza crust, and there was some parmesan sprinkled on there from when I topped my slice, and the combination was just…

Magical.

So, the last time I made my tasty Garlic and Parmesan popcorn (http://phobicfoodie.com/2011/04/21/munchies/) it occurred to me that I could leave out the garlic, pour on some honey, and have a sweet and salty snack that would knock my socks off!

I was right.

Start with butter and honey.  You must have both!  A couple of tablespoons of butter and about 1/3 c of honey oughta do it.

Heat them gently until the butter is mostly melted.  You can stir it up to get the last bit of butter melted if you need.  Stir in a sprinkle of salt. 

Take some of last night’s leftover movie popcorn.  Or pop up about 4 cups fresh.  Whatever ya got lyin’ around! 

Spread it out on a cookie sheet (here’s the part where you could save yourself a ton of later work and clean up by lining your pan with foil.  I did not have any foil.  Because I am a dweebus and thought I would remember everything I need at the store instead of making myself a list, and then I forgot the foil, and then I got home and realized I forgot it and I thought to myself “you are such a dweebus.”  Anyways, the moral of the story is this: if you have foil, line the pan and cleanup will be a breeze!)

Pour all of that butter-and-honey-gooey-goodness over the top!

Stir it all around until every kernel has a sticky, shiny, delicious coating of honey

Then sprinkle some grated parmesan cheese all over it.

Don’t skimp on the cheese!

You can use the pre-grated stuff that comes in a can for this if you want.  I did.  It came out great!  Of course, the real stuff would probably be even better, but if this is all ya got use it!

Heat your oven up to 350 and bake the popcorn for about 15 or 20 minutes…the honey will caramelize and the parmesan will turn golden brown and gorgeous! 

Warning:  Stir very often while baking…there is a very small window between “perfect!” and “buuurrrnnnnntt *sob sob!*” with this popcorn.

When the honey and parmesan have melted together to create a caramel brown coating on the popcorn, take it out and give it one more good stir before spreading it out on foil or parchment paper to cool.  Don’t eat it yet!  I know it sounds tempting and it smells divine, but it is very important that you wait until the popcorn has cooled before you eat it!  The honey and butter and parmesan are basically melted candy at this point, and are roughly the temperature of liquid lava.  Wait until the honey has set and the popcorn is completely cooled and crispy before digging in!

Oh, and see this?

Let ye not waste the honey-and-parmesan-brown-bits stuck to the back of the spatula.

Oh my.

Delicious.

Best.  Movie.  Snack.  Ever!!!

HONEY AND PARMESAN POPCORN

4 c. popped popcorn

1/3 c. honey

3 tablespoons butter

Salt to taste

½ c. grated parmesan

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spread popcorn out in a single layer on a baking sheet.

Melt honey and butter together.  Stir in salt (about ¼ tsp) and drizzle the mixture over the popcorn.  Stir the popcorn until every kernel is thoroughly coated.  Sprinkle parmesan over all.  Give the pan a gentle shake to help distribute the parmesan, but don’t stir it or all the cheese will sink to the bottom and burn right away.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, stirring frequently.  Remove from the oven when the honey and parmesan have melted and caramelized to a dark amber.  Stir everything one more time and spread out on foil or parchment paper to cool.  Wait at least 10 minutes before eating or you will burn your tongue badly.  And then you won’t even be able to taste it!

Please wait.  Please?

And then

Eat and be happy!

 

Leave a Reply

