phobicfoodie

My Year of Adventurous Eating

Chicken Poblano “Kind of Green” Chili June 16, 2011

Filed under: Random Thoughts (or sometimes maybe not so random),Recipes — PhobicFoodie @ 4:52 pm

I just spent the whole afternoon at The Gap Body, surrounded by anorexic twelve-year-olds wearing shorts the size of my sports bra, and trying to ignore their stringy, pre-pubescent boyfriends as they ogled the push-up bras and flouncy negligees.  Call me old-fashioned, but…but…it’s just wrong! 

Anyways, I’ve finally conceded that I have reached the point in my life where bikinis are just not a brilliant idea.  I tried on numerous bathing suits.  I endeavored valiantly to find something that covered all my unsightly, sludgy bumps but didn’t make me look like I was 107 years old and afraid of the sun!

Then I cried a little bit.

Then I cursed this blog and the whole stinkin’ Project!

Then I decided I’d still be eating just as much, just not as adventurously, and therefore would still be the same size…blog and Project notwithstanding.

Then I sighed and left The Gap.

I need comfort food, STAT!

 

I love green chili!  Always have, always will…and will always love it more than red (world without end.  Amen).

Although, I love a good bowl of red chili too!  But the green (or sorta green!) stuff is less heavy in the summer.

I cheated a little with this chili and used a jar of the premade stuff to buff it up.  It adds a lot of flavor, but not a lot of work!  Generally I would try to make sure you have all the exact same ingredients available as I do, so your soup can come out the same, but what can I say?  Last night I was being lazy.

Nothin’ new there, you don’t need to tell me!

Next time I’ll try to make it all up from scratch…in the mean time, use a jar of your favorite prepared green chili.  It’ll come out good, even if it’s not like mine!

Begin with a good mound of diced poblano peppers (about 3), and a diced onion (or half an onion, and a large shallot if that’s whatcha got on hand!  That’s what I had on hand.)

 

(Somebody explain to me the difference between poblano peppers and pasilla peppers…they seem to use the two names interchangeably at my local supermarket…)

Heat a big ol’ dutch oven or sauce pot over medium heat, then pour in a tablespoon or so of oil and dump in the veggies.  When they are tender, throw in a few smashed and roughly chopped garlic cloves,

 

A jar of your favorite green chili,

 

A box of chicken stock,

 

(I realize that is a jar in the photo above, not a box.  I like to pour the chicken stock into the chili jar, swish it around, and then pour.  That way nothin’ gets wasted!)

Next, add in two cans of spicy tomatoes with peppers or chilis (you know me…I love things spicy!  I used the extra hot kind.  You can use mild!  The poblanos will give off a little kick too, so if you prefer things even more on the mild side you might just want to use a can of plain tomatoes!)

 

Dump in two cans of white beans (cannellini beans and white kidney beans are the same thing.  You could use navy beans, or black eyed peas, or butter beans…heck, you don’t even have to use white beans!  Use the red or black or brown kind if ya wanna!  I’m not gonna judge you!)

 

Stir in a couple of teaspoons each of cumin, smoked paprika and oregano (if you have Mexican oregano, use it!  If not, the plain ol’ Mediterranean variety will certainly work!

Then stir it all up and toss in a couple of chicken breasts.  Raw.  Just simmer ‘em in the soup until cooked through…it’ll take about 15 minutes. 

 

It’s ok if they’re a bit pink when you pull them out.  Just shred up the meat with a couple of forks.

(Or your fingers, if you have fingers of steel!)

 

Stir the shredded up chicken back into the soup and simmer it until everything is done…the peppers and onions will be tender, the chicken will be juicy and delicious and cooked through.

YUM!

Now, I strongly believe that no matter what kind of chili you are having, it needs to have toppings.  Cheese, sour cream, tortilla chips, olives, green onions…whether the chili is red, or green, the somewhere in between (like this one…hence the name)…

Chili.  Needs.  Toppings!

 

The coleslaw I whipped up to top this chili is really where it’s at! It’s cool, refreshing, tangy, crunchy…the perfect finish to the spicy soup!

You can see it in the photo above, over there on the left, but there are no photos of the process of making it. 

Why? 

Because I am a nerdface.

Just take a couple of cups of shredded coleslaw mix.  Go ahead.  Use the stuff from the bag…the kind with two colors of cabbage and carrots too!  I could never eat a whole head of cabbage before it went bad anyways!

(Be warned though, it looks purty  and colorful right now, but tomorrow everything will be an alarming and homogenous shade of fuschia, thanks to the purple cabbage. 

On the other hand, tomorrow everything will have really had a chance to soak into the coleslaw mix and get all chummy and delicious, so it all sort of evens out.)

Squeeze in the juice of a couple of limes, a tablespoon or so of honey, a teaspoon of olive oil, and generous sprinklings of salt and pepper to taste!

Set the coleslaw out on the counter for a few minutes (or in the fridge overnight) so the lime can really buddy up to the veggies!

I also diced up a tomato and avocado, and sliced up some more lime.

Because you can never have too much lime!

And pulled out some shredded, Mexican style cheese.

Because you can never have too much cheese!!!

These are basic truths…truths that make the world go round!

When the soup is smokin’ hot and ready, top it up and chow it down!  The soup is savory and spicy with an earthy, mellow heat from the poblanos.  The cool kick and crunch of tangy limey coleslaw will make your taste buds tingle when mixed into the soup!  A little squeeze of extra lime, a bit of creaminess from the cheese and avocado, the sweet, juicy tomato…

Nnnooommmm.

 

I also added about three times as much coleslaw as you see there.  I just had to make sure you could see what the finished soup looks like.  As soon as I was done taking photos, I really piled it on!

Delish!

Here’s the recipe!

Chicken Poblano “Kind Of Green” Chili

3 poblano peppers, cleaned, seeded and diced

1 medium onion, diced

6 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablespoons oil (for the pan)

1 16 oz jar prepared green chili (use your favorite!)

2 cans diced tomatoes with peppers

2 cans drained and rinsed beans (I used cannellini beans…they are plump and creamy and delicious!)

1 32 oz box chicken stock (use low or no sodium…trust me on this)

2 small skinless chicken breasts (you can use bone in, just take the bones out when you shred the chicken)

Heat a large sauce pan over medium heat.  Pour in the oil, and add the onions and peppers.  When they are tender, stir in the garlic.  Add the remaining ingredients.  Simmer about 15 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through.  Remove the chicken and shred with two forks.  Add back into the soup and simmer until completely cooked and the veggies are all tender.  Serve with toppings of choice!  Recommended: cheese, avocado, tomato, lime, Tangy Limey Coleslaw (below).

Eat and be happy!

Tangy Limey Coleslaw

4 c. shredded cabbage

Juice from two limes

1 tablespoon honey

1 teaspoon olive oil (to help give the dressing some substance)

Salt and pepper

Mix everything together and allow to sit out on the counter for at least 20 minutes, or in the fridge overnight.

 

Leave a Reply

