phobicfoodie

My Year of Adventurous Eating

Greek Pitas April 25, 2011

Filed under: Random Thoughts (or sometimes maybe not so random),Recipes — PhobicFoodie @ 11:57 am

 

C’mere you.

It’s time to learn about Greek Pitas.

I whipped these up the other night, and since they were easy, and quick, and snarftastic, and because I love you, I’m going to share them with you.

Here’s what you need:  Ground pork, ground beef (or whatever protein you have on hand–this was what I happened to have lying around begging to be used), frozen chopped spinach (thawed and squeezed dry), mint, oregano, garlic, and roasted bell peppers.  Oh, and salt and pepper if you like it.  I like it.  Lots of it.

You will also want to start preheating your grill on medium high.

Don’t ask me why there are lemons in this picture.  You don’t need lemons for this part of the recipe.  They have nothing to do with the patties.  They sneaked in there when I wasn’t looking.  Camera hogs!  Imposters!  They’ll get their chance later!

*ahem* Anyways…dice up the peppers, and mince up the herbs and garlic. 

Mix it all together gently with the ground meat and form into patties.  I had two pounds of meat and it made 8 nice sized patties.

The skewers are entirely unnecessary, but I really wanted to use skewers.  I can’t explain it…they were just sitting there, eyeballing me, asking me why I bought them all that time ago if I was never going to use them…  Honestly with a patty this size you can grill it just like a hamburger, but skewers I wanted so skewers I used.  If you use them, putting two through each patty will make them easier to turn.  Skewers would also be fantastic if you were to shape the mixture into meatballs instead of patties.  Just something to consider.

Next, grill until caramelized and charred and delicious and cooked through.  I think I left them on there for about 12 minutes total–6 minutes per side.  I made them well done (for once) but only because I included pork in the mix.  If it had been just beef, I think I would have shot for medium.  Of course, how long you cook them also depends on how thick you make the patties.

Next, make tzaziki sauce.

That’s pronounced (as near as we can tell) dza-dzee-kee.  At least that’s what Wikipedia told us. 

Hubby and I discovered this after a long debate and a session on the intewebs to determine who was right.  Turns out, we were both wrong!  Imagine that.  Well, neither one of us is Greek, so that’s my excuse.

Anyhoo, here’s whatcha need for the tzaziki:  Greek yogurt, an English cucumber, minced garlic, minced mint, lemon juice and salt. 

Grate the cucumber and drain it for a bit.  If you need to, squeeze it a bit to get the excess moisture out.  You don’t want runny tzaziki.  It’s a crime.

Mix all the ingredients together.  Taste it.  Taste it!  It should be creamy, and tangy, and cool, and scrumptious.  It should make your taste buds and your palms tingle with happiness.

Assemble pitas with pita bread, some fresh greens, feta cheese (nnooooommmmmm) and the tzaziki.  Lots of it.

You could toss on some thinly sliced red onion and tomatoes if you happen to have them on hand.  I didn’t.  I didn’t miss them either.  But they would have been welcome had they chosen to make an appearance!  I’m just sayin’

Eat with many napkins.

These are especially tasty if you can manage to wait til the next day.  Chill the patties, slice thin, reheat and serve up!  Eat and be happy!

Here’s the recipe with some rough measurements, but adjust them to suit your tastes!

Greek Pita Patties

Makes 8

1 lb ground beef

1 lb ground pork

1 8 oz package frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed dry

1 roasted red pepper, diced

3 large cloves of garlic, minced

2 tbs. minced mint

1 tbs minced oregano

salt and pepper to taste

Mix gently, form into patties and grill on medium high until cooked through (about 6 minutes per side).

Tzaziki Sauce

Makes about 2 cups

1 1/2 C. Greek Yogurt

1 Medium English Cucumber, shredded and squeezed dry

1 large clove of garlic, mashed into paste

1-2 tbs. minced fresh mint

salt to taste

Mix it all up, let sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes to let the flavors cozy up and get acquainted.  The longer you let it sit, the more cozy they’ll get!

Also kids, I got room for three more at the Mushroom Fest, so it’s not too late to RSVP!  Comment on my post “You Are Invited!” to get in on the fun!

 

One Response to “Greek Pitas”

  1. […] served them up with Minty Feta Quinoa (recipe to follow), homemade tzaziki sauce (http://phobicfoodie.com/2011/04/25/greek-pitas/), big, crunchy salads (my sister makes this amazing, old fashioned carrot, apple and raisin salad […]


Leave a Reply

