phobicfoodie

My Year of Adventurous Eating

You Are Invited! April 22, 2011

Filed under: Next! — PhobicFoodie @ 10:41 am

Well, my dears, Mushroom Day is a mere week away, and as I didn’t really recieve any suggestions for a great restaurant to try them at I think I’ll just try them at home.

I mean, how hard can it be to cook a mushroom?

Also, since there are already epic adventures planned for most of the people I am acquainted with on April 29th, I’m bumping it back one day.

Mushroom Day is now April 30th, and I want you to join me for dinner.

The first 6 people to post in the comments below (or first 3 to reply “me +1) are invited to a mushroom dinner on April 30th.  Just be sure to leave your name in the post, and then email me your contact info at phobicfoodie@gmail.com so I can get details about time and place to you.

If you are so inspired, I welcome and encourage you to bring your own mushroom masterpiece, some wine, or just some tasty snackies, but you are just as welcome if you arrive empty handed!

On the menu:

Burgundy Mushrooms

Garlic Oven Frites (just a fancy word for french fries…but they’ll be hand cut and homemade with love and devotion by yours truly!)

Salad

Wine

Anything you would like to contribute, if you would like to contribute!

P.S.  If the rumors are true and mushrooms really do taste just like meat when cooked this way, why, we won’t even miss the meat I would normally feel compelled to include in such a meal. Right?  Will we?  I don’t know.  I hope not.

Please try to RSVP by April 28th (that’s Thursday, y’all) so I can plan ahead a little.

That’s all for now!

 

7 Responses to “You Are Invited!”

  1. Cora Says:

    Hmm…I’m not sure how I feel about you defiling the day of my birth by eating fungus… yuck. Just remember this as you chow down on your decomposition byproduct: “No nutritional value and hard to digest” (is it sad that that is really all I remember from our high school science classes??) 🙂

    Wish I could be there…no, that’s not right. Call me when you have steak and potato day and we’ll talk!

    • PhobicFoodie Says:

      Don’t take the mushrooms personally…just tell everyone I’m embarking on a new adventure in honor of your birthday–you can leave the fungus part out! 🙂 And steak and potato day is every day–if you come out here we’ll make a point of eating something you like!

  2. Allison Ramsey Says:

    Hmmm, fungus. You know sometimes I feel like a mushroom, kept in the dark and fed a bunch of bullshit 😉 I never adventured much into the land of mushrooms due to the fact that they taste, well, like a mushroom. But, I’m willing to expand the horizons of my taste buds and teach them that not every fungus is bad. With all that to say, count me in 🙂

  3. Laurel Bond Says:

    Count me in for the fungus fest! Mel is coming too! I’m scared, but I know that I am in good hands. Can’t wait!

  4. Sarah Irons Says:

    Me me!! + 1 too. I’m gonna bring some too. I’ll bring some fungus too.


Leave a Reply

