phobicfoodie

My Year of Adventurous Eating

Rosemary-Garlic Roasted Potatoes April 13, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — PhobicFoodie @ 7:52 am

Let me just start by clearing this up:  I am not afraid of potatoes.

I love potatoes.  Love them.  French fries are balm to my soul.  Baked potatoes are my life.  Cheesy, creamy scalloped potatoes with sweet saute’d onions…and a sprinkling of fresh chives….and a pinch of nutmeg….aaaaahhhh….well, let’s move on.

I am not including this recipe because I’m afraid of potatoes.  I’m including it because I tried making it the other day for my sister’s birthday dinner (Happy Birthday, Sis!) and I thought they were delish.  They were delish and I want to share them with you all because I love you sooo much!

Besides, who wants to only read recipes about gross foods like mushrooms and shrimp?

Sorry I don’t have any pictures, but since I was elbows-deep in rosemary, garlic and olive oil I thought I would sacrifice the photos for the sake of my camera.  You understand.

So here it is:  Rosemary Garlic Roasted Potatoes.  Make them.  Eat them.  Love them.  Especially tasty with medium-rare grilled steak and saute’d asparagus.

Rosemary Garlic Roasted Potatoes

6 lbs Yukon gold, small red or other waxy potato

1 whole head of garlic, broken into cloves

3 Tbsp. minced rosemary

1/2 c. olive oil

salt

freshly ground black pepper

Pre-heat oven to 400 °

Cut potatoes into quarters (or if they are small just in half) without peeling (but please do wash them well.  You know potatoes grow in the dirt….right?  And dirt is just, well, it’s dirty!  Also, if there is any green under the skin go ahead and peel that off). 

Peel garlic cloves and mash with salt into a fine paste (you could use jarred garlic paste or that stuff that comes in the tube but trust me, this is better!) 

In a small bowl, mix garlic paste, minced rosemary, olive oil, and several generous grinds of black pepper (I use the freshly ground stuff, but that’s because I like the taste of black pepper.  You could use the pre-ground stuff that only requires sprinkling.  I’m just saying, you could make this easier…but I didn’t.  I like doing things the hard way.  I know.  It’s weird.

Spread potatoes in a single layer in 2 large baking pans. 

Pour 1/2 of the rosemary-garlic mixture over each pan then mix thoroughly (I used my hands for this so I could make sure I rubbed all that garlicky, herby goodness well into each potato.  But you could use a spoon if you have a horrible aversion to cooking with your hands.  You could.  If you wanted to.  But it wouldn’t be the same.)

Sprinkle generously with salt (I really like the coarse ground sea salt that comes in big, crunchy crystals but use whatever ya got on hand) and maybe a little more black pepper (depending on how much you like black pepper).

Roast for at least 1 hour (or until completely tender and melt-in-your-mouth savory) turning a couple of times to keep them from scorching to the bottom of the pan. 

Taste.  Taste again.  Taste as often as you need to, really.   Add more salt as needed (it really is difficult to over-season a potato.  They are very forgiving vegetables) and serve to a grateful, hungry mob.

Makes enough to feed a small army or 12 of your hungriest family members.  Your house will smell amazing and everyone will eat and eat, and be happy.

 

Leave a Reply

